Zachariah O’Hora

Children’s Author & Illustrator
NYT Bestseller
Travels from: Philadelphia, PA

“Zach’s books are absolutely amazing, and his passion for art and illustration was demonstrated through his presentations.” — Candace Taylor-Weber, The KAUST School

Zachariah O’Hora is the illustrator of the New York Times best seller Wolfie the Bunny. His debut as an author, Stop Snoring Bernard! won the 2011 Society of Illustrators Founders Award and was the 2012 State of PA Dept of Ed One book. His follow up, Not Fits Nilson! was named the Huffington Post Best Children’s Book of 2013, a Kirkus Best Picture Book of 2013, a New York Public Library Book for Reading and Sharing and was given the PALA Carolyn W. Field Award. His book My Cousin Momo! was named by the Boston Globe a Best Picture Book of 2015 and was a Junior Library Guild Selection. His book The Not So Quiet Library hit shelves July 2016, and Niblet and Ralph followed in June 2018. His latest book, Fuzzy (Inside and Out) came out in November 2021. He is also the creator of the new PBS animated series, Carl the Collector, now in production. He lives and works in Narberth, PA with his wife, two sons and two cats.

Prepare an Invitation for:

Sonny Says Sorry!

Bloomsbury Children’s Books |
Children’s

Perfect for fans of Salina Yoon, this young picture book series–featuring four adorable friends–focuses on relatable social/emotional learning topics and is brought to life by bestselling illustrator Zachariah OHora.

While playing Hide and Seek with his friends, Sonny finds a box. It has a label on it that says “Do not open.” But Sonny really wants to know what’s inside. He pokes the box. Sniffs the box. And when Boo and Meemo come along, Sonny says “Look!” He opens the box, and they peek inside. CAKE!
“Yummy!” says Boo. It looks so good, they can’t help it. They eat it.
But when Honey comes by, she sees Sonny and Meemo and Boo’s chocolatey hands and faces. “That was my cake!” she cries. What will Sonny and his friends do?

Caryl Hart and bestselling illustrator Zachariah OHora continue this sweet and funny series that covers universal kid experiences–in this case, saying sorry, and trying to make things right.

Blips on a Screen: How Ralph Baer Invented TV Video Gaming and Launched a Worldwide Obsession

Knopf Books for Young Readers |
Children’s

An engaging picture book biography based on the incredible true story of a Jewish refugee who pioneered home video games and launched a worldwide obsession.

Do you ever wonder how video gaming was invented? What came before your PlayStation or Xbox? This is the story of Ralph Baer, a refugee from Nazi Germany, who used his skills–and a lot of ingenuity and persistence–to make life a little more fun.

Television was new when Ralph returned from serving in World War II, but he didn’t settle for watching TV. He knew it could be even more fun if you could play with it. He tinkered and tested, got help and rejected, but with perseverance and skill, he made his vision come true! This is the inspiring story of a fearless inventor who made TV video games a reality.

Fuzzy, Inside and Out: A Story About Small Acts of Kindness and Big Hair

Abrams Books for Young Readers |
Children’s

From the hilarious mind of bestselling creator Zachariah OHora comes this tale about small acts of kindness, big hair, and spreading warm, fuzzy feelings

Meet Fuzzy Haskins: with unruly fur and a heart of gold, he’s fuzzy inside and out!

Everywhere he goes, he spreads warm, fuzzy feelings throughout his community. There’s only one thing that can possibly dampen his spirit: the humidity! When rainy weather brings on extra fuzz and gets Fuzzy into a jam of his own, it takes the generosity of others to get him back on his feet.

With its endearing takes on friendship and small acts of kindness, this charmingly offbeat tale from the hilarious mind of Zachariah OHora will inspire readers to spread fuzziness wherever they go.

Sonny Says Mine!

Bloomsbury Children’s Books |
Children’s

Perfect for fans of Salina Yoon, this new picture book series–featuring four adorable friends–focuses on relatable social/emotional learning topics and is brought to life by bestselling illustrator Zachariah OHora.

Sonny is having a great time in the park with his friends when he finds an adorable pink stuffed bunny. Sonny loves playing with his new toy . . . until his friend Boo asks if he’s seen her favorite pink bunny. Even though Boo is upset, Sonny says, “No!” He loves the bunny and doesn’t want to give it back.

But as Boo gets more and more upset, it becomes harder and harder to lie. Can Sonny find the courage to tell the truth and apologize?

This new series by Caryl Hart and bestselling illustrator Zachariah OHora covers universal kid experiences in sweet and funny ways–in this case, sharing and saying sorry.

Dogs at Work: Good Dogs. Real Jobs.

Balzer + Bray |
Children’s

A fun and educational picture book about all the real jobs dogs can have, by popular author Margaret Cardillo (Just Being Audrey) and bestselling artist Zachariah OHora (Wolfie the Bunny). Perfect for fans of Children Make Terrible Pets, Rescue and Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship, and dog lovers of all ages.

Have you ever wondered what dogs do all day when their people leave for school or their jobs?

What if they went to work, too . . . ?

This clever picture book describes all the real jobs that dogs do. From a therapy dog to a mayor dog and even a lobster-diving dog, the possibilities will surprise you!

But, of course, there is one job that dogs love more than any other: being a best friend.

Interactive Read Aloud

Lively, detailed, endearing, and bold, the images and text create an unforgettable reading experience for book digesters everywhere!

Author Presentation to Adult Educators

Author Presentation to Adult Educators

A tailored for each age group school presentation. 35-40 minutes for Pre K-K and 50 minutes for 1-5th graders.

Keeping it Weird

In-depth discussion of personal references and influences with a focus on character inspiration, and an emphasis on embracing the slightly different, the odd, the cult, and straight-up weirdo elements that are the DNA of Fuzzytown.

Outsider (Or How I Realized I Owe My Career in Kid Lit to the Devil)

About OHora’s love and lifelong allegiance to public libraries.

Honors, Awards & Recognition

NYT Bestseller
Junior Library Guild Selection
2011 Society of Illustrators Founders Award
2012 State of Pennsylvania Department of Education One Book
Huffington Post Best Children’s Book of 2013
Kirkus Best Picture Book of 2013
Boston Globe Best Picture Book of 2015
PALA Carolyn W. Field Award
2018 State of Pennsylvania Department of Education One Book
North Carolina Children’s Book Award Picture Book Award, 2019
Tulsa Library Books to Treasure Illustrator for 2020

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Similar Authors

Award Winning Kid Lit Author/Illustrator
Bestselling Author/Illustrator
Children’s Author & Illustrator
Award Winning Children’s Author & Illustrator
Bestselling Children’s Author & Illustrator

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!