Rex Ogle

Middle Grade & Young Adult Novelist
YALSA/ALA Award Winner
Travels from: Los Angeles, CA

“Rex really impressed our students with his honesty and candor.” — Susan KS Grigsby, Ed.S. Head Librarian, Nishimachi International School, Japan

Rex Ogle was born and raised (mostly) in Texas. He moved to New York City after college to pursue an editorial career, interning at Marvel Comics before working at DC Comics, and later at Scholastic and Little Brown Young Readers. He championed over a dozen NY Times Bestsellers on major brands such as X-Men, Justice League, Star Wars, LEGO, Power Rangers, Transformers, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Neil Patrick Harris’s Magic Misfits. Rex loves to talk about these books as well as video games (he loves MarioKart!), TV, and movies.

Having written under a lot of pen names (like Trey King and Honest Lee), Rex’s favorite is the pseudonym Rey Terceiro–the author of Meg, Jo, Beth, & Amy, and Swan Lake: Quest for the Kingdoms. Under his own name, he is the author of dozens of comics, as well as prose memoirs, Free Lunch (recipient of multiple starred reviews, listed as a Best Book of 2019 by Amazon, Kirkus, and Chicago Public Library, and the winner of the YALSA Award for Excellence in Non-Fiction), and Punching Bag. He also wrote middle grade fantasy The Supernatural Society, and has over a dozen books coming out in the next few years.

Rex is able and willing to discuss everything from tv to movies, music to videogames (especially MarioKart!), and comics to books, all with honesty and candor. He writes memoirs, prose, free verse, and graphic novels, and is happy to offer pointers and tips to students and teachers alike.

Prepare an Invitation for:

Abuela, Don’t Forget Me

Norton Young Readers |
Middle Grade

Rex Ogle’s companion to Free Lunch and Punching Bag weaves humor, heartbreak, and hope into life-affirming poems that honor his grandmother’s legacy.

 

In his award-winning memoir Free Lunch, Rex Ogle’s abuela features as a source of love and support. In this companion-in-verse, Rex captures and celebrates the powerful presence a woman he could always count on—to give him warm hugs and ear kisses, to teach him precious words in Spanish, to bring him to the library where he could take out as many books as he wanted, and to offer safety when darkness closed in. Throughout a coming of age marked by violence and dysfunction, Abuela’s red-brick house in Abilene, Texas, offered Rex the possibility of home, and Abuela herself the possibility for a better life.

 

Abuela, Don’t Forget Me is a lyrical portrait of the transformative and towering woman who believed in Rex even when he didn’t yet know how to believe in himself.

The Supernatural Society

Inkyard Press |
Middle Grade
“Monsters have never been so much fun.” -Stuart Gibbs, New York Times bestselling author of the Spy School series

“Frightening and fun ” -Neil Patrick Harris, New York Times bestselling author of The Magic Misfits

Readers will be scared silly in this spooky and hilarious middle grade series starter about a town chock-full of monsters and the kids who must unravel centuries of secrets to save it.

Will Hunter thought his life couldn’t get any worse:

  • His parents just got divorced,
  • His best (and only) friend now is his dog, Fitz,
  • And his mom moved them from New York City to the middle-of-nowhere town called East Emerson.

But Will was wrong–things are about to get way worse. Because East Emerson is filled with a whole lot of monsters, and he’s the only person who can see them.

When all the town pets (including Fitz) go missing, Will suspects there’s something sinister going on. So he joins forces with outcast Ivy and super-smart Linus to uncover the ancient secrets of East Emerson. Besides, nothing bad could happen when three sixth graders team up against monsters, magic, myths, and mad science . . . right?

Read all the books in The Supernatural Society series
The Supernatural Society
Curse of the Werewolves

Punching Bag

Norton Young Readers |
Young Adult

New York Public Library Best Book of 2021

 

The companion to Rex Ogle’s award-winning Free Lunch is a searing account of adolescence in a household torn by domestic violence.

 

Punching Bag is the compelling true story of a high school career defined by poverty and punctuated by outbreaks of domestic abuse. Rex Ogle, who brilliantly mapped his experience of hunger in Free Lunch, here describes his struggle to survive; reflects on his complex, often paradoxical relationship with his passionate, fierce mother; and charts the trajectory of his stepdad’s anger. Hovering over Rex’s story is the talismanic presence of his unborn baby sister.

 

Through it all, Rex threads moments of grace and humor that act as beacons of light in the darkness. Compulsively readable, beautifully crafted, and authentically told, Punching Bag is a remarkable memoir about one teenager’s cycle of violence, blame, and attempts to forgive his parents—and himself.

Free Lunch

Norton Young Readers |
Middle Grade

Winner of the 2020 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award.

Instead of giving him lunch money, Rex’s mom has signed him up for free meals. As a poor kid in a wealthy school district, better-off kids crowd impatiently behind him as he tries to explain to the cashier that he’s on the free meal program. The lunch lady is hard of hearing, so Rex has to shout.

Free Lunch is the story of Rex’s efforts to navigate his first semester of sixth grade—who to sit with, not being able to join the football team, Halloween in a handmade costume, classmates and a teacher who take one look at him and decide he’s trouble—all while wearing secondhand clothes and being hungry. His mom and her boyfriend are out of work, and life at home is punctuated by outbursts of violence. Halfway through the semester, his family is evicted and ends up in government-subsidized housing in view of the school. Rex lingers at the end of last period every day until the buses have left, so no one will see where he lives.

 

Unsparing and realistic, Free Lunch is a story of hardship threaded with hope and moments of grace. Rex’s voice is compelling and authentic, and Free Lunch is a true, timely, and essential work that illuminates the lived experience of poverty in America.

Free Lunch & Punching Bag, & Difficult Themes

Unsparing and realistic, Free Lunch is a story of hardship threaded with hope and moments of grace. Rex’s voice is compelling and authentic, and Free Lunch is a true, timely, and essential work that illuminates the lived experience of poverty in America. Punching Bag is written in a similar vein though with a focus on domestic violence. While these are difficult topics, they are also essential to building compassion among the next generation. Rex knows how to navigate these heavy topics and happy to share his advice.

Graphic Novel Fun

Meg, Jo, Beth, & Amy is Little Women with a twist: the four sisters of a blended family experience the challenges and triumphs of life in NYC in this beautiful full-color graphic novel perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile and Sisters. Swan Lake: Quest for the Kingdoms takes a stuffy ballet and gives it a facelift by re-imagining it as a fantastical action-adventure. What Rey Terciero (aka Rex Ogle) does is make the old new again, by re-imagining classic stories.

Writing Fiction 101

Rex loves to write, and has had a love of writing (and reading!) since a very early age. But he understands that many are reluctant readers and even more reluctant writers. But creating stories is something most students don’t realize they love. With over 20 years of publishing industry experience, Rex knows the in’s and out’s of writing, both for yourself and as a job. He’s happy to share his writing tips–everything from getting started to finding inspiration, crafting outlines, overcoming writer’s block, building colorful characters, finding themes, and utilizing sensory information to convey your story to your readers.

Creating Comics

Comics are the future! When Rex was a kid, no one wanted kids reading comics. Now everyone knows how great graphic novels are–especially for reluctant readers! Rex loves comics and has been reading titles like Batman and X-Men for close to 30 years… That’s why he worked at both Marvel and DC Comics, and why he continues to write for them when he’s not focused on his own work. Rex knows the in’s and out’s of sequential storytelling and is happy to share the process–everything outlines and scripting, to pencils, inks, colors, and lettering–as well as offer tips on writing, creating comics, and even getting published!

Writing Memoirs, Poetry, and Personal Essays

Unsparing and realistic, Free Lunch is a story of hardship threaded with hope and moments of grace. Rex’s voice is compelling and authentic, and Free Lunch is a true, timely, and essential work that illuminates the lived experience of poverty in America. Punching Bag is written in a similar vein though with a focus on domestic violence. While these are difficult topics, they are also essential to building compassion among the next generation. Rex is happy to discuss these heavy themes, or offer tips on writing.

Rex’s Editorial Projects

Rex’s Anthologies

Rex’s Extras

Honors, Awards & Recognition

Kirkus Best Books of 2019
Amazon’s Top 100 Books of 2019
Chicago Public Library, Best of 2019
Junior Library Guild, Gold Standard Selection
Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award Nominee 2020-2021
2020 Texas Library Association’s Little Maverick list
YALSA/ALA Award for Excellence in Non-Fiction
2018 Texas Bluebonnet Award Nominee

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!