Kate O’Hearn

Middle Grade/Young Adult Author
Fantasy Writer
Travels from: London, UK

“Kate O’Hearn is a great ambassador for her craft and we can’t thank her enough. We look forward to her next visit!” — Alison Kingwell, Senior Librarian at Helenswood School

Kate O’Hearn was born in Canada, raised in New York City, and has traveled all over the United States. She currently resides in England.

When she moved to England, and then toured Europe, she was exposed to all the exciting and rich history of the area. Her imagination spilled over and she started to write, inspired by her love of reading and the fantastic stories her parents told on long journeys. Now she shares that pleasure with everyone, telling stories of wild adventures in strange lands – but filled with people who are just like you and like Kate. And of families who face terrible dangers and come together as they fight for a common goal.

Kate explains that her love of writing for the middle grade market comes from knowing at this age, students still have the sparkle of “magic and wonder” in their eyes that time and life haven’t diminished. Kate is the author of the Pegasus series, the Shadow Dragon series, the Titans series, the Valkyrie series, and the Atlantis series.

Prepare an Invitation for:

Escape from Atlantis

Aladdin |
Middle Grade

From the author of the Pegasus series comes a spellbinding first book in a new fantasy series for fans of Rick Riordan and Shannon Messenger following two cousins whose summer vacation gets swept away by a storm that lands them on the lost island of Atlantis.

The last way that Riley Evans wanted to spend spring break was studying whales on the family sailboat in the middle of the Bermuda Triangle. With only her dad, aunt, and annoying cousin Alfie for company, she is so bored staring at the waves that she’s starting to see mermaids between them. But when their boat is capsized during a sudden storm, Riley finds more excitement than she bargained for as she and Alfie are washed ashore with neither of their parents in sight. Where they’ve been shipwrecked is no deserted island, though.

Atlantis is a place beyond imagination, inhabited by both people and incredible creatures ranging from unicorns and gargoyles to talking animals. But not everyone welcomes the cousins’ arrival, and beneath the wonder of this mythical land lurk dangerous secrets—something strange is happening to the inhabitants. What Riley wants more than anything is to find her father and go home. But the closer she gets to this goal, the more the islanders seem determined to keep her from reaching it.

As Riley and Alfie unravel the mystery of Atlantis and its most terrifying part, the Forbidden Zone, they realize that the clock is ticking. If they can’t learn what happened to their parents and find a way off the island soon, it may be too late to leave.

The Missing (Titans #2)

Aladdin |
Middle Grade

Follow Astraea, Zephyr, and their friends as they travel to a dangerous jungle world in this second book in a brand-new series from bestselling Pegasus author Kate O’Hearn, who masterfully blends mystery and mythology together.

With the weakened Titan prisoners hidden on Earth, Astraea, Zephyr, and their team head to Nesso’s jungle world to seek help in the struggle against the Mimics.

But nothing goes to plan. The moment they arrive, they encounter a world filled with dangers they never imagined possible—from massive, hungry dinosaurs to a blisteringly hot sun. Soon Zephyr and Astraea are seriously wounded. Without ambrosia or nectar to heal them, the group soon realizes they are in serious trouble. But where can they go for help?

With Zephyr’s life slipping away, Jake and Tryn use their new flying skateboards to try to make it to Xanadu where they hope to find ambrosia for Zephyr and enlist help to join the fight against the Mimics.

Meanwhile, Astraea and the three centaurs must use all their cunning to keep Zephyr safe and alive. But danger comes in many forms, and it seems as though no one may be left to help them—until Jake and Tryn stumble across a lone Olympian everyone believed to be dead…

Titans

Aladdin |
Middle Grade

A group of kids must stop invaders before they take over Titus—and the rest of the universe—in this first book in a brand-new series from bestselling Pegasus author Kate O’Hearn, who masterfully blends mystery and mythology together.

Fifteen years ago, Olympus was destroyed and the Olympians were resettled on Titus. Since then Earth has been declared a quarantined world. Neither Titans nor Olympians are allowed to visit and under no circumstances are humans allowed on Titus. The Titans and Olympians are keeping the peace. But the deep-seated mistrust still lingers, so when a human ends up on Titus, he could be the spark that reignites the war…

Astraea is a Titan, granddaughter of Hyperion, and now a reluctant student at the brand-new school, Arcadia. She just knows that it’s going to be awful, and that there is no way that Titans and Olympians will ever get along! At least she’s got her best friend, a winged-horse named Zephyr, to keep her company. Then the night before the first day of school, Astraea hears her parents discussing something terrifying: a human has been spotted on Titus. But that’s not possible. All routes to Earth via the Solar Stream have been closed—no one can travel between the two worlds…or can they?

When Astraea and Zephyr get detention on their first day—for fighting with a centaur—they’re sent to the orchards to harvest nectar. There they discover a human boy named Jake. How he got to Titus is a mystery to him and to them. They have to get him home before anyone else discovers him.

But what the trio uncovers is something much bigger than one human boy. It’s a scheme to take down the rulers of this world, conquer it, and then do the same across the galaxy. Can a group of kids stop the invaders? Or is Titus, like Olympus before it, doomed?

War of the Realms (Valkyrie #3)

Aladdin |
Middle Grade
Freya and the Valkyries must stop a war before two worlds are destroyed in this third book of an exciting series that School Library Journal described as perfect for “those looking for Rick Riordan read-alikes.”

In the world of Asgard, living among Odin, Thor, and Loki, are the Valkyries of legend. They are Norse goddesses who reap the fallen souls from human battlefields and have the power to cause death with just one touch.

At the end of The Runaway, Freya and the Valkyries were about to leave the human world when they learned that the Frost Giants, Fire Giants, and Dark Searchers had united to declare war on the Realms. Bitfrost, the legendary rainbow bridge linking the human world to Asgard, had been closed.

With their only entry back to Asgard barred, how can the Valkyries get back to fight to protect their homeland? Loki claims he knows a secret route but can they trust him? And even if they found a way—is there anything they can do to stop the war?

As the War of the Realms spills over into Earth, Freya and the Valkyries must find a way to save not just the Norse world but the human world as well. With everything at stake, can Freya become the Hero she was destined to be?

The Runaway (Valkyrie #2)

Aladdin |
Middle Grade

Freya searches for a missing Valkyrie in this second book of an exciting new series that School Library Journal described as perfect for “those looking for Rick Riordan read-alikes.”

Valkyrie: Norse Goddess. Reaper of Souls. Defender of the Weak. But could she also start a war?

In the world of Asgard, living among Odin, Thor, and Loki are the Valkyries of legend. Norse goddesses, reapers of souls from human battlefields—they have the power to cause death with just one touch.

Freya is a Valkyrie—but she has not followed in the footsteps of the legends before her. She has been to the World of Man to befriend humans—and not to reap their souls.

Now she must return to the human realm on a new quest to track down the runaway Valkyrie of legend. There she will discover a dark secret that leads her to the Land of the Frost Giants where she must take on new enemies. But this time she has friends to rely on, and lots more to gain.

Author Talk/Writing Exercise

Kate will discuss fantasy, have a short Q&A, do a reading from one of her books, and have students write some of their own work and share.

Fantasy Writing Workshop

Kate will cover how to start a compelling fantasy story and how to bring it to a satisfying conclusion, including writing dialogue. Students will start a story of their own.

Why Fantasy and Why Now

In this talk, Kate discusses the difference between reality and fantasy writing, and how in a time of stress and strife, fantasy can take us away from our troubles, and how the magic of strange, otherworldly places and the characters that live there can be used as metaphors for what is happening around us—but without being as grim as reality. Kate considers the greats such as Lord of the Rings and others which were metaphors for war. Kate will read from one of her fantasy books and explain what she was actually writing about.

The Journey from Idea to Bookstore

Kate invites a group of students to represent different parts of publishing—author, agent, editor, copy editor, printer, sales person and book seller. With this demonstration, Kate shows how one of her books gets moved along the line of students to show in a playful, interactive way, how stories become books. It also illustrates how much publishing is a collaborative effort and how important all aspect are in bringing a book to life.

Me, Myself and I?

In this workshop, Kate asks the students what they prefer to write, first person or third person. A discussion follows of the difference between the two, and as a final challenge, students write the opposite way from their preference. With in-person workshops, Kate brings a series of unique and strange items which students can then earn points for using as many of the items as possible in their writing.

I Speak, Therefore I Am”

In this workshop, Kate discusses with students the value of dialogue in moving a story along at a good pace, and how dialogue can set a scene. Students are then invited to do some dialogue-based writing with a minimum of three characters in a setting and genre to be agreed upon by popular vote.

Writing to Defeat Bullying Anxiety

Kate will discuss how she was bullied in school and how writing helped her deal with her emotions. Kate encourages teachers, parents and youth advocates to try to get children to write stories to help with what they’re feeling or going through.

Kate’s Gallery

Resources for Teachers

Honors, Awards & Recognition

1066 Schools’ Book Award
Richard & Judy Pick for 2012
Rotherham Children’s Book Award

Media Kit

By clicking the link below your will be directed to a Google Docs Folder
where you can download author photos and cover images.

Similar Authors

Bestselling Novelist & Middle Grade Author
Middle Grade Novelist
Bestselling Kid LIt Novelist
Young Adult Fantasy Novelist
Middle & Young Adult AuthorFilmmaker

Interested in hosting this author?
Send us a message and an A|U Agent will return to you ASAP!